January 18, 2012

Paris

I shall die in this city
     At the crack of dawn
Calmly and quietly and smooth
     I’ll take care of it all
My little poems of farewells, goodbyes and the bullets
     My tobacco, my tango, my fistful of dreams 

I shall cover my body with the entire sky
     Of the blood-drunken dawn
And I shall die

My love-struck death will hit like a tango
And I shall be dead at the count of six
Now that God no longer thinks of me
I shall walk towards oblivion
All the way till I find you waiting at an angle
Enwrapped in your sadness facing mine
Hold my tight for in my soul
I see those deaths and those past death
In this land of darkness I see them all 

I shall cover my body with the entire sky
     Of the blood-drunken dawn
And I shall die

Mourir à Paris
     Au lever du jour
À l’heure où meurent ceux qui savent mourir
     Dans mon silence flottera
Le cafard parfumé
     De ces poèmes que jamais
Je n’ai pu te dire
     Dans les rues je marcherais longtemps et là-bas
Comme des angles échappés d’un ballet fatigué

 I shall cover my body with the entire sky
    Of the blood-drunken dawn
And I shall die at the count of six

Jean Seberg's grave in Montparnasse 

Hey, my darlings!
     How’s it going?
     Hope 2012 has begun quite beautifully for you all. After all, this is the year our world as we know it is supposed to end, or rather change. Exciting, isn’t it?
     No big news from here, I’m afraid, just a lot of work (as usual). As some of you know, I started shooting my new film, A Second Chance, in December. What a time we all had in Paris! Never in my life have I enjoyed working on a picture that much! My dear friends Laurent Delpit (actor), Jennifer Eberhardt (cinematographer), and Léonard Lasry (composer) are in this adventure with me together, and recently sound engineer Nikolaus Tunis and lovely artist Jade Boyd joined our little team, too. Hanna Schwab and Marc Hodapp will appear in supporting roles. I am very happy and can’t wait for the cameras to start rolling again in February, this time in Berlin.
     Currently reading Ben Cohen’s blog. Oh, I’m really in love with him. What a beautiful human being, inside and out. He’s so dearly devoted to what he does, and his StandUp Foundation deserves all the support it can possibly get.
     Happy to announce I’m going to be in England more frequently again this year; I’m especially looking forward to visiting Bristol this summer.
     Sending you kind thoughts, have a great week!

 André

